IMI Competition Awards Criteria

The IMI Awards, one of the highlights in our calendar year, attracts 300+ entries across the various categories. The 2020 awards will be open to entries from Monday 16th March 2020. This page provides more information on categories, process and judging criteria.

Awards categories

  • Photo – clinical
  • Photo – general
  • Ophthalmology (including external eyes)
  • Graphics – art / illustration
  • Graphics – design
  • Graphics – animation
  • Video



Each entry is judged against the following criteria, which may be adapted for categories as required:

  • Quality standard (does the entry meet all expected quality standards?)
  • Clinical value (how well does the entry convey the clinical information?)
  • Level of expertise (does the entry show the need for advanced technical or professional knowledge?)
  • Aesthetic value (does the entry have a high visual impact?)


Awards honours

Bronze – demonstrates an excellent application of technique and an understanding of the requirements of the brief.

Silver – demonstrates an outstanding application of technique and an excellent understanding of the requirements of the brief.

Gold – demonstrates exceptional use of technique, understanding and interpretation of the subject in the illustration and fulfillment of the brief.

Platinum – the entry selected as Best in Show by the judging panel.


Individual Awards

  • Peter Kilshaw Student Award
  • Affiliate Organisation Award
  • Wellcome Award
  • Gabriel Donald Award
  • John Corney Video Award



There is a judging panel for each category – more information on the judges for 2020 can be found here. All entries are judged anonymously.


Award notifications

All award winners will be notified by the 31st July 2020.